Au Revoir to Grahy

20161029-153448

This is what I wrote back in December 2016 just before we left France in January. The acute tendinitis turned out to be an iguinal hernia, now successfully treated.

For a variety of reasons we are leaving Grahy and our garden at 750 metres. Principally, for the last 18 months I have suffered from a muscle strain that developed into acute tendonitis and the amount of time I have been able to put into the garden has decreased dramatically. Life here is good, but hard physical work and you need two fully fit people to make it work. We are leaving in January, returning to the UK for a new adventure in Northumberland. This blog will remain as a record of our years here in the Auvergne.

I thought it would be good at the end of this year, to look back at our time here. So over the next few days I will be posting a blog entry for every year we have been at Grahy, including our two years before we moved over permanently.

3 thoughts on “Au Revoir to Grahy

  1. afrenchgarden

    Sorry to hear about your acute tendonitis. Keeping a garden, especially a large vegetable garden, is a lot of continuous work. Each year we make alterations so that there will be less work in the following year. As of writing we have never succeeded in arriving at this mythical future although I naively keep trying :). Best wishes for your new adventure in Northumberland. Amelia

    Reply
  2. Osyth

    I say often to my husband, my children and anyone else who will listen (they occasionally do) ‘everything changes, nothing stays the same’. I am sad that you are leaving Auvergne and I will miss your blog greatly but far more than that I hope that you will find content in Northumberland (also one of my favourite places on earth and one that the aforementioned children and I almost settled in many years ago) …. your health is the greatest gift you have and I wish you both health, I wish you both a life that you can grasp and enjoy and that does not make things tough for you and above all, again I wish you both content for content is surely the greatest of gifts.

    Reply
  3. Candelo Blooms

    Sorry to hear your news, but it has been a wonderful adventure for you both and now it’s time for something new! Hope the tendonitis settles down soon and all the very best for 2017!

    Reply

Leave a comment